A Poem for the day

IF EVER

If ever your heart should forget me, then poison not my own heart

By continuing to live an untold lie.

Leave me and take your new destiny with you.

Do not waste my precious moments that I can use

to sew up the stitches of my soul.

For every time a heart is broken

It is the guilt of the betrayer

that causes the innocent heart to suffer.

Would I be broken? Yes, as only a heart in love can be.

But I could also pick up the torn fabric of that heart

and slowly piece it together.

Maybe never as fully whole as it was

But enough to cover the wound until it can fully heal.

As love is the very essence that moves and motivates us,

So can it also drive us into extreme thoughts and actions.

Rare is the heart that chooses to never love again. So, if you shatter mine leave and don’t look back.

For a heart that can never love again, was one that never truly loved to begin with.

L.S. Rockel

 

Author: artista10

I am an artist, photographer, wife, mom and Nonna. you can email me at bluediamond1918@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

