A day of dealing with Anxiety and/or Panic

Today I try and do like I have been doing in order to deal with panic or anxiety. I learn to let go, and I do mean let go of things I cannot change or that worrying about will not make it any better. I keep busy. I do some form of exercise because believe it or not, it does help. Even if you just do yoga or if you try leg or arm exercises. I do not do them for long but it helps.

I tell myself all of the encouraging things I can think of. I have asked family and friends NOT to share any negative news with me or tell me about horrible things they have heard about. I think that makes it worse. As I have said before, I will scream STOP in my head if I feel it coming. If I get that heated feeling, I carry my ice pack and just get my mind off of it but if it comes on, I have to face it.

I hate it but it does go away. I learned not to rely on people because they will fail us no matter how hard they try because they cannot understand. Even the best ones at helping us will slip at some point so for me, personally, I have learned to just tell God, “I am in a bit of a fix here. You are the only one who can get me out of it so help me.” Depending on others will not fix our problem.

As I have said before also, I have found some useful tools. Those described above and I keep a ton of handmade ice packs. I wet a washcloth, fill it with ice, and then I put it in three gallon baggies and I let the air out of each one. I carry an ice pack and an ice cold water in a small thermos bag that usually last about 5 hours. If I go somewhere to visit I put it in their freezer should I need it. Everyone is aware of my situation so no explanations are needed. That also helps. Not having to worry that if I have an “episode” they are not aware of what it is.

So, that is my anxiety blog for the day. I hope it helped someone somewhere. Have a productive and great day because you are a productive, wonderful person. 🙂

 

Author: artista10

I am an artist, photographer, wife, mom and Nonna. you can email me at bluediamond1918@gmail.com. Or find me on facebook under Lynda Rockel. :)

Leave a Reply

