Life with Nitro

Nitro is our pup. One of three dogs. Buddy is a pap/pom mix at a topping 13 lbs, Tracer is an outside dog, a rescue who is probably about 30 lbs. Both are mild mannered and kind. Then there is Nitro. Nitro is a German Shepherd we bought and brought home at 10 weeks. It has been interesting ever since. He is now seven months old, 82 lbs.  and we love him. Let me start with that. LOL. He is a destruction magnet beyond words. He tears and eats everything. He terrorizes the cats and Buddy when he can but I usually catch him. He does not hurt them, just gives them a hard time. Tracer hates him. He does NOT play fair. Actually most all animals hate him. He is a bully and he agitates just for fun. When he was teething, my arms paid the price. The only thing we did not do correctly was check out the breeder good enough.

Now, of course I would not give him away or sell him but there are days I dream of doggy daycare. Yes, there, I admit it. He has torn the upstairs hallway carpet to shreds but no problem. I was going to replace it anyway. He has shredded my antique stool. No problem, just a few thousand dollars there. He tried to shred my couch lining but I caught him in time.  He got into the soft cat food outside twice and so, yes, I found bathroom disaster the next morning.

So, I guess most people would think, is there any good in the dog? Why, yes there is.  He is protective when he feels we are threatened and yet, he laps all over kids. He loves to be loved. He actually gets his feelings hurt if he thinks you are mad. In those times, he is a gentle giant. He is smart. He is easy to train in MOST areas. He loves to be petted. He guards over the animals even though he harasses them.

So, before you buy a Shepherd, know your facts. I studied them and about them for two years before I even considered the option. Hubby wanted one, not me. We messed up because of a bad or half breeder that my hub trusted. I should have checked her out more. BUT, all in all, I do love him. It is just a LOT of work so be prepared for it needing lots of your time, energy and attention before buying.

Author: artista10

I am an artist, photographer, wife, mom and Nonna. you can email me at bluediamond1918@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

